2013 Ceremony

The 2013 Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held on Sunday, July 28, 2013 at The Clark Sports Center. Additionally, on Saturday, July 27, the Hall will present the awards for the Ford C. Frick Award for broadcasters, the J.G. Taylor Spink Award for writers, and the Buck O'Neil Lifetime Achievement Award in a separate ceremony at Doubleday Field. Be sure to keep on eye on the Hall of Fame's Induction Weekend page for more 2013 events and announcements, including interactive sessions with Hall of Famers on Friday, July 26 and Monday, July 29.

Attending the Ceremony

Here's what you need to know to attend the Induction Ceremony:

  • Attending the Ceremony is free and no tickets are required. Lawn seating is available for the general public. In order to get the best seats, you need to claim your spot early. Special seating is reserved for family members of inductees and Hall of Fame President's Circle and Benefactor members.
  • The ceremony typically starts around 1:30pm. Between 10,000 and 75,000 fans have gathered on the Sports Center lawn to watch the Ceremony in years past. Be sure to arrive early!
  • The local high school will be selling water and other refreshments during the Ceremony. Portable restrooms will be located on the Sports Center grounds during the weekend.
  • There is no parking at the Sports Center for the Ceremony. You must park within Cooperstown and walk to the Ceremony (about 1 mile from the Hall of Fame). There are many local residents and business offering off-street parking in driveways and on lawns for a small charge. The Hall of Fame has suggestions regarding parking for visitors on their website.
  • The Clark Sports Center is located at 124 County Highway 52, Cooperstown, New York, 13326.

Visiting the Baseball Hall Of Fame

Visit the Baseball Hall Of Fame Induction Weekend news and visitors site for trip tips, a FAQ about the weekend, and other Induction Weekend information. For more information about the Baseball Hall Of Fame Museum and other Hall Of Famers, visit the Hall Of Fame homepage. Also, be sure to check out their Facebook page, their Twitter page, and their blog for news and more.

The 2011 Induction Ceremony was held on Sunday, July 24, 2011. The inductees included second baseman Roberto Alomar and pitcher Bert Blyleven. Alomar received 523 votes (90.0%) and Blyleven received 463 votes (79.7%) in results announced in January 2011. General manager Pat Gillick was also elected to the Class of 2011 by the Expansion Era Committee in December 2010. For more information about 2011 year's inductees and BBWAA voting, read the Hall Of Fame press release of the January 5, 2011 announcement. On Saturday, July 23, 2011, Dave Van Horne was presented with the 2011 Ford C. Frick Award; Bill Conlin was honored as the winner of the 2011 J.G. Taylor Spink Award; and Roland Hemond was awarded with the 2011 Buck O'Neil Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Baseball Hall of Fame as published recaps from the 2011 Induction Ceremony on its website, including transcripts of Pat Gillick's speech, Roberto Alomar's speech, Bert Blylevin's speech, a photo gallery, a press release, and an in-depth article. Also, be sure to check out a photo gallery from the Voices of the Game event held Monday, July 25. For more information, visit the Baseball Hall of Fame website.

The 2010 Induction Ceremony took place on Sunday, July 25, 2010. The inductees included Andre Dawson, manager Whitey Herzog, and umpire Doug Harvey. Andre led all eligible players with 420 votes (77.9%), achieving the 75% required for election. Other award winners included Bill Madden of the New York Daily News, who received the J. G. Taylor Spink Award honoring a baseball writer, and John Miller, winner of The Ford C. Frick Award, honoring a baseball broadcaster.

A recap with transcriptions of each person's acceptance speeches from the 2010 Induction Ceremony can be found at the Baseball Hall Of Fame website.

For more information about past Induction Ceremonies, visit the Baseball Hall of Fame website that provides complete coverage of all Ceremonies dating back to 1939.

2009 Ceremony

2008 Ceremony

2007 Ceremony