Jump to main content

2013 Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Thirty-two Hall of Famers paid tribute to the Class of 2013 on July 28 in Cooperstown. The Class of 2013 featured three pioneers from baseball’s earliest days: Umpire Hank O’Day, who called the first World Series in 1903 and was the ruling arbiter in the 1908 game between the Giants and Cubs where Fred Merkle’s base running mistake cost the Giants a walk-off win; former Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert, who purchased the contract of Babe Ruth from the Red Sox and built Yankee Stadium; and Deacon White, a brilliant bare-handed catcher from the 19th century.

Paul Hagen received the 2013 J.G. Taylor Spink Award and Tom Cheek received the 2013 Ford C. Frick Award.

For more information, visit the Baseball Hall of Fame website.